Travel To Lisbon

Travel to Lisboa (Lisbon)

Lisboa is the capital of Portugal, and it is located on the estuary of the Tagus River, on the European Atlantic Coast. It is continental Europe’s western most capital. Some 3 million people live in the Lisboa area, with around half a million living in the capital itself. Despite the region having plenty to offer, the city itself creates unforgettable moments in unexpected places. Known for its seven hills, which appear to have been designed to help get to know Lisbon better, there is always a spot where you can look down on people going about their lives. Discover the legacy left by the civilizations that inhabited the city throughout the centuries and the homage paid by artists. From the classic to the contemporary, visual arts to performing arts, listed monuments to new interactive exhibitions, in Lisbon there is always a unique show to see or an impressive monument to visit. Lisbon also offers delicious menus for all tastes and diets but who visits Lisbon cannot afford to miss the pastel de nata sprinkled with cinnamon.

How to arrive?

There are many ways to get to Lisboa you just need to choose to most suitable:

  • An international airport close to Lisboa center (7km), but you can also arrive in Oporto Airport (3 hour drive) or Faro Airport (2 hour drive);
  • Iconic train stations with international rail links (Gare do Oriente or Santa Apolónia);
  • Modern ports for cruise ships (Alcântara, Rocha Conde de Óbidos or Santa Apolónia);
  • Excellent roads from various points along our border with Spain (main options: A1 or A2).


ID card or Passport

For arrivals from any EU Schengen Area Country

The border-free Schengen Area guarantees free movement (without special formalities) to EU citizens, along with non-EU nationals living in the EU or visiting the EU as tourists, exchange students or for business purposes (anyone legally present in the EU).

For arrivals outside the EU Schengen Area

If you are planning to travel to an EU country (except Ireland), or Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino or Vatican City, you must meet the Schengen area rules.

A Schengen visa is a short stay visa allowing its holder to circulate in the Schengen area. The Schengen area covers 26 countries ("Schengen States") without border controls between them. These countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. A Schengen visa is an authorization issued by a Schengen State with a view to:

  • an intended stay in the territory of the Schengen States of a duration of no more than 90 days in any 180 days period ("short stay visa");
  • a transit through the international transit areas of airports of the Schengen States ("airport transit visa");
  • Visas for visits exceeding the 90 days in any 180 days period remain subject to national procedures.

Please note that your passport must be less than 10 years old on the day you enter (check the ‘date of issue’) and valid for at least 3 months after the day you plan to leave (check the ‘expiry date’).

Further information:

Covid-19 pandemic

The Portuguese government has been taking all necessary public health measures to protect the entire population as well as our visitors. Measures in force are reviewed in accordance to the evolution of the pandemic. Before you travel, check Portugal’s updated entry restrictions and requirements at: